Back to events


  • Concerts

June 22,
6:30 p.m., and
June 23,
5 p.m.

La Scala Paris
Access plan

Full : 25 €
Discount Price : 19 €
ManiFeste/Young Card : 12 €

Audio-visual performance, Premiere 2019

Can you dance to contemporary music? This odd question from Matteo Franceschini encouraged him to push the “classical concert” form towards the dance floor. Opening like an evening of chamber music, little by little OPUS transforms the musical and visual narrative—oneiric and theatrical—into a purely electro stage. In this creation, the string quartet, an emblematic genre in classical music, dialogues with technological systems, creating a continual interaction with the video and lighting. Here, perspective is used as a mode of representation and a system for the set design: the technique of photograms in which you scan and compose real images—here unfinished constructions in the south of Italy—with very different points of view. The 3D virtual décor will be modified live by the vibrations and distortions of the quartet.

TOVEL (Matteo Franceschini) music, commissioned by IRCAM-Centre Pompidou, ProQuartet-Centre européen de musique de chambre
1024 architecture (François Wunschel, Pier Schneider) visuals
Manuel Poletti IRCAM computer music design

TOVEL live electronics
1024 architecture live video and set design
Quartetto Maurice
Georgia Privitera, Laura Bertolino violins
Francesco Vernero viola
Aline Privitera cello

An IRCAM-Centre Pompidou, La Scala Paris - Les Petites Heures, 1024 architecture coproduction. With the support of Mécénat Musical, Société générale.

© 1024 Architecture et TOVEL
© 1024 Architecture et TOVEL
© 1024 Architecture et TOVEL
© 1024 Architecture et TOVEL
© 1024 Architecture et TOVEL
Quartetto Maurice
© DR

OPUS Trailer

  1. OPUS Trailer

Also discover

We use cookie technology to measure our online audience and to allow you to share content on social networks via link buttons. Further information.